We previously announced that Microsoft will begin upgrading classic workspaces on April 27th, 2022, which is just a few weeks away. In this post, we’ll share key notes for Power BI admins to help you prepare.
Our current schedule is as follows:
- April 27, 2022 – Microsoft begins the automatic upgrade process of all existing v1 workspaces. This will be a rolling sequential process, so you’ll see workspaces upgrade incrementally. Tenant admins can choose how to handle empty v1 workspaces during the upgrade process, as described below.
- May 15, 2022 – Microsoft begins incremental deletion of empty v1 workspaces. If you wish to preserve your empty v1 workspaces, upgrade them manually or use the Block scheduled upgrade of empty workspaces setting described in the following section before May 15, 2022. Note that Office 365 Groups associated with v1 workspaces will not be deleted by Microsoft.
- June 15, 2022 – Scheduled completion of Microsoft’s automatic upgrade process for remaining v1 workspaces.
Choose how to handle empty v1 workspaces during the upgrade
By default, empty v1 workspaces will be deleted by Microsoft during the upgrade, unless otherwise specified by the tenant admin. Removal of these unused workspaces will decrease overhead for admins and will enable users to find their Power BI content more easily.
Tenant admins wishing to preserve empty v1 workspaces can set the Block scheduled upgrade of empty workspaces tenant setting to Disabled. This will preserve these empty v1 workspaces until May 15, 2022, providing admins with the opportunity to selectively upgrade them.
After May 15, 2022, any remaining empty v1 workspaces will be treated as follows:
- If Block scheduled upgrade of empty workspaces is set to Disabled, empty v1 workspaces will be upgraded to v2 and preserved.
- If Block scheduled upgrade of empty workspaces is set to Enabled, empty v1 workspaces will be deleted.
Between April 27th and May 15th, Admins can manually upgrade any empty v1 workspaces as needed.
Additional notes on deletion:
- The automatic upgrade process does not affect v2 workspaces.
- O365 groups associated with v1 workspaces will not be affected.
Have feedback or ideas?
As always, we look forward to learning about how these capabilities are being used in your organization. Please leave comments or questions below or submit your ideas for feature enhancements here.