Note:

Have you heard about the new apps yet? Apps are the new way to distribute content to large audiences in Power BI. We recommend using apps instead of organizational content packs or read-only workspaces. Learn more about apps.

You can package up and share your dashboards, reports, Excel workbooks, and datasets with your colleagues as organizational content packs. Your colleagues can use them as-is, or they can create their own copies.

Creating content packs is different from sharing dashboards or collaborating on them in a group. Read How should I collaborate on and share dashboards and reports? to decide on the best option for your situation.

You can only do some organizational content pack tasks if you're the content pack creator:

  • Republish.
  • Restrict or expand access to the content pack.
  • Set and change scheduled refresh.
  • Delete the content pack.

Modify and re-publish an organizational content pack

If you make changes to the original content pack dashboard, report, or Excel workbook, Power BI prompts you to republish. Additionally, as the content pack creator, you can update any of the options you selected in the Create Content Pack window when you were creating the original content pack.

Republish with new content

When you make and save a change to the dashboard that you included in a content pack, Power BI reminds you to update it so others can see the changes. For example, if you pin a new tile or just change the name of the dashboard.

  1. Select View Content Packs in the message.

  2. Or select the cog icon in the upper-right corner   and select View Content Pack.

    Notice the warning icon .  This lets you know that you've modified the content pack in some way and it no longer matches what you published.

  3. Select Edit

  4. Make any necessary changes in the Update Content Pack window and select Update. A Success message appears.

    • For group members who haven't customized the content pack, the update is automatically applied.
    • Group members who have customized the content pack receive a notification that there is a new version. They can go to AppSource and get the updated content pack without losing their personalized version. They'll now have 2 versions: the personalized version and the updated content pack. In the personalized version, all tiles from the original content pack will be gone. But tiles pinned from other reports will still render.  

Update the audience: expand or restrict access

Another modification available to content pack creators is expanding and restricting access to the content pack.  Perhaps you published a content pack to a broad audience and you've decided to restrict access to a smaller group.  

  1. Select the cog icon   and choose View Content Packs.

  2. Select Edit

  3. Make any necessary changes in the Update Content Pack window and select Update. For example, delete the original distribution group in the Specific Groups field and replace it with a different distribution group (that has fewer members).

    A Success message appears.

    For any coworker who isn't part of the new alias:

    • For group members who haven't customized the content pack, the dashboard and reports associated with that content pack are no longer available and the content pack doesn't appear in the Navigation Pane.
    • For group members who have customized the content pack, the next time they open the customized dashboard, all tiles from the original content pack will be gone.  But tiles pinned from other reports will still render. The original content pack reports and dataset are no longer available, and the content pack doesn't appear in the Navigation pane.

Refresh an organizational content pack

As the content pack creator, you can schedule refresh of the datasets.  When you create and upload the content pack, that refresh schedule is uploaded with the datasets. If you change the refresh schedule, you need to re-publish the content pack (see above).

Delete an organizational content pack from AppSource

You can only delete a content pack from AppSource if you created it.

Tip:

You can delete your connection to a content pack you didn't create. That doesn't delete the content pack from AppSource.

  1. To delete a content pack from AppSource, go to the app workspace where you created the content pack, select the cog icon   and choose View Content Packs.

  2. Select Delete > Delete

    • For group members who haven't customized the content pack, the dashboard and reports associated with that content pack are automatically removed. They're no longer available, and the content pack doesn't appear in the Navigation Pane.
    • For group members who have customized the content pack, the next time they open the customized dashboard, all tiles from the original content pack will be gone.  But tiles pinned from other reports will still render. The original content pack reports and dataset are no longer available, and the content pack doesn't appear in the Navigation pane.

Next steps